Broken Hearts and the Fabulous Perch-1982

Mr Primitive

The other of my band albums, along with PearceArrow, and the one where I felt that I could write harder Rock songs.

The album was pulled from a series of songs I had written in 1981 and was recorded quickly during a month I was on leave in 1982. Brian Waters made arrangements for us to record and got the players together. I played rhythm guitar and sang, Brian played bass, Howard Cano added Mellotron tracks, and Mark McCoin played the drums and percussion. The lead guitarist used the moniker, Mr. Jones. The album had problems, mostly technical; the Dolby was messed up, and to my mind the songs were incomplete, but what was there I really liked and didn't want to discard. So it languished and all I had was a cassette copy because the masters were lost after Brian died. After deciding to put out my catalog in 2015, I had to figure out what to do with the older material and concluded that I should try to clean them up and finish them. On this album I transferred them to digital and added the parts I thought were needed to complete the songs and then mastered the songs and finished them by cleaning out the tape hiss with Audacity. I love the feel of the album and am happy with how they turned out all in all.

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
    Faces 3:34
  3. 3
  4. 4
    Light 4:05
  5. 5
    Movie 3:32
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8